Behold the TRS-80. This thing of beauty was my first computer. I was a jubilant 10 year old when I unwrapped a very big and heavy box on Christmas morning, 1984.

Mine didn’t have the two 5 1/4 floppy disks you see on the right. Instead I used a household tape recorder and 60 minute casette tapes to save data and load programs. I learned how to program in Basic (Visual Basic’s predecessor) by typing in the cryptic program code included in the create your own story books (for extra nerdy kids) my mom would buy for me.

For the sake of visual comparison, here’s my current computer.

Note the similarities. On both, the keyboard is attached to the screen. Neither has a floppy drive. Both have brought me sheer frustration as I spent hours trying to write functional programs. Both have brought me sheer zen like euphoria as I spent hours trying to write functional programs. As wise King Solomon once said, there is nothing new under the sun.

I spent my Saturday morning learning how to post pictures on a weblog. What was that thing about the sun again?

