A recent episode of This American Life featured a poem by William Carlos Williams called This is Just to Say. Legend has it that he wrote the poem and left it as a note on the refrigerator for his wife:

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

This poem is famous for being both the world’s best non-apology and for being commonly spoofed. I find the poem contains a certain dryness and wit which is reminiscent of Jack Handy quotes (“If God dwells inside us like some people say, I sure hope He likes enchiladas, because that’s what He’s getting”).

Here are a couple of my spoofs. I would love to read yours!

-1-
I stuck my foot out
as you walked by
and made you fall down
in front of your friends

The whole
school is laughing about it
forgive me

-2-

Yesterday I put your dog out
but I forgot to let her back inside
and she ran away

I heard her barking
near the street
when I went to bed

I am sorry
but I was so
warm and comfortable
under the soft covers
and I had just taken off my socks

