The year is close to half way over, but I am not close to being half way done with my goal of reading 36 books this year. However, I feel some consolation that the books I have read so far have been challenging (not the kind of stuff I would normally read) and very enjoyable.

One of my favorite websites is The AV Club. In particular, they have a fantastic book section and some interesting ongoing features. One of the ongoing features, called Gateways to Geekery helps readers engage in a subculture which may seem impenetrable (e.g. west coast G-funk, power pop). One recent column was dedicated to classic crime fiction — describing it as a genre with roots all the way back to Edgar Allen Poe. The article was convincing enough that I mentally committed to read a book by Dashiell Hammett if the opportunity presented itself. On a recent business trip, my connecting gate in the Cincinatti airport was right next to a particularly good airport Borders. While browsing, I came across The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett and immediately recalled my emotional commitment, so kept the promise to myself and picked up a copy

the_thin_man.largeYeah, it was OK. I wasn’t captivated and am not going to hijack my reading plans to become a fanboy. The story was more or less only interesting to me because I appreciated how much of a spoof the Naked Gun movies were of this particular type of writing. It wasn’t terrible, but it definitely fell far below my heightened expectations.If you want my copy, ask.

I did feel really cool buying it and reading it on the airplane.

  1. Outliers (read)
  2. The 7 Triggers to Yes (read)
  3. East of Eden (read)
  4. Duma Key (listened)
  5. Past Caring (listened)
  6. Jesus Wants to Save Christians (listened)
  7. Ladies and Gentlemen: The Bible by Jonathan Goldstein (read)
  8. Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt by Anne Rice (listened)
  9. The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett (read)
  10. The Go Point (In progress, reading)
  11. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal
  12. Peopleware
  13. Back of the Napkin
  14. Over the Edge of the World (Magellan’s terrifying circumnavigation of the globe)
  15. Lisey’s Story
  16. The Time Paradox
  17. The Creative Habit
  18. Revolution by George Barna
  19. The Relational Way
  20. The Art of Learning: An Inner Journey to Optimal Performance
  21. Spin Selling
  22. Genesis
  23. Exodus
  24. Leviticus
  25. Numbers
  26. Deuteronomy
  27. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  28. Emergency Sex
  29. Founders at Work (http://www.scottberkun.com/blog/2007/book-review-founders-at-work/)
  30. E Myth Revisited
  31. ?
  32. ?
  33. ?
  34. ?
  35. ?
  36. ?
